Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Moderator: vert

Landy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by Landy » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:16 am

Does someone know where and how do I assemble an auto leveling sensor on the A10M and where to connect the cables(both of them)?

krismcewan
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:29 am

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by krismcewan » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:47 pm

A second vote for this please

bluemeanie23
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by bluemeanie23 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:09 pm

FB_IMG_1537509994200.jpg
FB_IMG_1537509994200.jpg (95.09 KiB) Viewed 25186 times
pinout is here but I am stuck on the Marlin side of things

Raz0neR
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 11:01 am

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by Raz0neR » Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:27 am

Hello, I recently acquired an A10M, I tried to find some information to add the BLTouch, I downloaded a .zip from the GitHub repository .... https://github.com/Geeetech3D/Prusa_I3_3Dprinter
Within this .rar, I found several folders, and one of them put A10M, and inside this, there is one that puts Marlin 1.1.8 and inside another folder with the option of BLTouch and without it.
I copied that config.h with BLtouch and loaded it with Arduino 1.8.6 after that, the machine did not respond well, neither from lcd, nor from usb with any slicer.
I have returned the firmware without Bltouch again, and the machine, does not respond anything but from the lcd, and when I try to print some .stl of those who came in the SD, it stays from front to back on the Y axis .
Any help please ???

Tparent
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:54 pm

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by Tparent » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:45 pm

Thanks bluemeanie

Just tried with a surprising result :
- initialisation work well : (sensor is red, pin released, pin up, pin release, pin up..)
- when I select in the menu "auto home" : X and Y are working well but.... Z is increasing of few steps and then stop.

Any idea ????? (if I remember well, no marlin update is required (mine being 1.1.8)

Thanks

Thierry
i3 B + i3 C + i3 M201 + A10 + A10m + A30
(+3 x Kossel)
Mostly PLA

Tparent
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:54 pm

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by Tparent » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:36 pm

After further investigation, firmware update is requried.

Download firmware from the following https://github.com/Geeetech3D/Prusa_I3_3Dprinter

Select the A10M subdirectory

Download / unzip on your PC

Copy 3D sensor support "configuration.h" from Configuration and hex files directory to Marlin

Start ARduino, load marlin, compile and upload and.... it works

Hope it helps

Thierry
i3 B + i3 C + i3 M201 + A10 + A10m + A30
(+3 x Kossel)
Mostly PLA

krismcewan
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:29 am

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by krismcewan » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:30 pm

HI all.

i have managed to get the 3d Touch working on the A10M.
here is how. (would appreciate a second look to ensure my instructions are accurate)

1. Install and Set the height of your BL/3d touch,
a. Home the Z axis
b Lower nozzle to the bed (if nozzle doesnt go to bed fully see section 10). And attach touch sensor to left hand side. Do not tighten yet. (you may have to CUT the sensor mounting screws shorter as they can interfere with access the screws to the printer)
c. Ensure the sensor pin is UP (if you have difficulty in keeping the sensor up plug it in as per step E)
d. Get a ruler or item around 2-3mm thick and slide it under the sensor. Important to measure the thickness of the item your using fo rStep 5.
e. Tighten the sensor up. And remove the ruler.
f. Plug the pins in the back as per photo above.

2. Go to your PC or MAC and download the firmware from https://github.com/Geeetech3D/Prusa_I3_3Dprinter. Extract the A10M folder out.
3. 3. Copy the Configuration H file from the folder "Prusa_I3_3Dprinter/A10M_marlin1.1.8/Configuration and hex file/3d touch/"and place it in the Main marlin folder Prusa_I3_3Dprinter/A10M_marlin1.1.8/Marlin/
4. Download Arduino 1.8.5 (IMPORTANT 1.8.5 VERSION ONLY). https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/OldSoftw ... s#previous Install and setup as follows
a. Select COM PORT (refer to geeetech Wiki for USB drivers)
b. Select board as ARDUINO/GENUINO MEGA OR Mega 2650
c. Check processor is ATMEGA 2560
d. File Open and navigate to the MARLIN.INOfile in the Prusa_I3_3Dprinter/A10M_marlin1.1.8/Marlin/ folder

5. Locate the CONFIGURATION.h Tab and find the line (Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER) Set the Minus figure to the size of your Ruler/spacer used in step 1c (ie your ruler was 2.5mm thick the line will read.
#define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER -2.5 //-0.50 // Z offset: -below +above [the nozzle]
6. On the line X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER ensure it reads as: #define X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER -40 // X offset: -left +right [of the nozzle] (distance of probe from nozzle)
7. Upload the amended firmware to the Printer.
8. Check printer control display under CONTROL to check there is a BLtouch Menu. (if no re check steps 2-7 )
DO NOT LEVEL BED OR USE ANY MENU FUNCTIONS JUST YET
9. Check that the home and probe works. Either use Z home in the printer control or via Arduino as below. The bed should centre and probe will deploy. The nozzle should not grind into the bed. If it does recheck Step 1 and step 5.
a. In Arduino Click TOOLS and SERIAL MONIITOR.
b. Type in G28 and send (sets home)
10. SET the Z offset on the Printer BED.
a. In Arduino Click TOOLS and SERIAL MONIITOR.
b. If med isn’t sitting at home do G28
c. To Reset OFFSet type in M851 Z0
d. Write settings M500 and set Active M501
e. Go to True Zero G1 F60 Z0
f. Switch off soft endtops M211 S0
g. Using the piece of paper technique (under nozzle not sensor) align the nozzle to the bed (using the move Z in printer control at .1 increments) NOTE offset on display EG-1.32)
h. Set the Z offset to that number. M851 Z-1.32
i. Turn ON soft Endstops. M211 S1
j. Write settings M500 and set Active M501
k. Set to Home again G28
l. Test by checking true zero. G1 F60 Z0 printer nozzle should be at correct height above bed.
11. SET SLICER GCODE. In your slicer select printer settings and Start Gcode after the G28 entry insert a new line with G29 :Bed Level. (make sure there isn’t a G28 AFTER this line)
12. Run a test print from an item you compiled in the slicer after step 11. Printer should set home, then level over 9 places on the bed and then print.

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1260
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by _kaktus_ » Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:09 am

Hi
:mrgreen:

This is great. Only a photo is missing.
:D
On the forum I help to use the rod, I don't give fish.
Geeetech Prusa I3 M201 Dual extruder Mixcolor 3D printer, bought 2017-12-19, already built, in the cognitive and improvement phase
Geeetech filament, ABS only
Geeetech 3D WiFi Module for 3D Printer, bought 2018-04-15, He got a new life, and still lies in a drawer.
Positively frenzied customer of Getech Technology.

aarli
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:20 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by aarli » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:32 am

Could you please post the working and configured firmware hex-file? I just got my 3D Touch too, but as I'm doing a lot of other Arduino projects too, I wouldn't like to start screwing around with my Arduino Toolset and so on. It's not simple job to set up, if you wanna use multiple very specific libraries...
Geeetech A10 (with mods) + Geeetech A10M
Repetier Server on Raspberry PI 3, connected to printers for remote printing/firmware uploads.
Slic3r Prusa Edition, Simplify3D, Ultimaker Cura, Repetier host on the PC

aarli
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:20 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Geeetech A10M and 3D touch sensor

Post by aarli » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:36 am

Actually... come to think about it... as my other printer (A10) is using 1.1.9, I'm thinking of forking the repo above and craete 1.1.9 release....
Geeetech A10 (with mods) + Geeetech A10M
Repetier Server on Raspberry PI 3, connected to printers for remote printing/firmware uploads.
Slic3r Prusa Edition, Simplify3D, Ultimaker Cura, Repetier host on the PC

Locked