how to change pins configuration in firmware

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by William » Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:59 pm

HI luca-mp,
If it still won't work.
I suggest you check the port for the heating bar(The voltage)
If the multimeter shows 0V it means the motherboard broken.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

luca-mp
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:54 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by luca-mp » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:24 am

Hi William,
I tested the hot end voltage and it is 11.7VDC. I also measured it's temperature with a K-Type thermocouple and a digital multimeter and it was 183°C. Same value I read on the LCD and on the repetier so I think the problem is not here.

I carried out some more tests, using the X-Axis pololu both in its original position and on the E1 channel (the original extruder pololu could be damaged, so I removed it in all the tests, just to be sure)
It worked fine. Then I connected the original extruder motor to the E1 Channel. It worked smoothly for a few seconds (say 10 seconds, maybe), then it started to vibrate. Suddenly the printer reset, losing the connection to the Repetier. I reconnected immediately, but the temperature of the hot end continued to fall out of control. I had to turn off and on the printer to regain the control. I replicated this behaviour 5 times.
This puzzles me. In your opinion, given your greater experience, could the motor be partially damage, causing voltage fluctuations that create glitches in the memory leading to the crash, or could it be the board that is showing erratic malfunctioning, foreshadowing an impending failure?
In the latter case, do you think I could replace it with something like this:
https://www.ebay.it/itm/Geeetech-Prusa- ... 3791629977

Thank you in advance for you kind advice.
Kind regards
Luca

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by William » Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:22 pm

Hi,luca-mp

Thanks for your details and I am clear now.
It should be an issue with the extruder motor.
My suggestion is:
1. Remove all the motor driver board off
2. Remove all the motor cables off
3.Test the E0 or E1 port(The good driver board+good motor)
Then heating it and test it move or not

If the motor won't work normally.
Then the motherboard may be broken.

Kindly,
William
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

luca-mp
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:54 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by luca-mp » Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:41 am

Hi William,
Thank you for your help.
I tried your steps and found as follows:
1) the old extruder motor driver is definitely broken.
2) The board seems to work properly both on E0 and E1
3) Tonight the extruder motor caused no problem but it still has that abnormal vibration (compared to the other motors) so it's probably "almost faulty".
I'll try to get a spare one.

BTW, just in case I will need it in the future, could the board I linked in my previous answer be fit for replacement?
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Luca

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by William » Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:10 pm

Hi,luca
You are correct.
If the driver board has an issue then the extruder also can be damaged.
The link of yours will fit your printer.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

MateMago
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 9:41 pm

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by MateMago » Wed May 29, 2019 1:39 am

Code: Select all

#define HEATER_BED_PIN 4
#define TEMP_BED_PIN 10

#define HEATER_0_PIN  2
#define TEMP_0_PIN 8

#define HEATER_1_PIN 3
#define TEMP_1_PIN 1
I have pin 1 (second extruder thermistor) broken. Is there any unused pin I could use to plug that thermistor?

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1260
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by _kaktus_ » Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:05 pm

Hello.
:mrgreen:

You can easily check this by looking at the schematic of your controller board.
Remember that the thermistor should be connected to the ADC pin.
On the forum I help to use the rod, I don't give fish.
Geeetech Prusa I3 M201 Dual extruder Mixcolor 3D printer, bought 2017-12-19, already built, in the cognitive and improvement phase
Geeetech filament, ABS only
Geeetech 3D WiFi Module for 3D Printer, bought 2018-04-15, He got a new life, and still lies in a drawer.
Positively frenzied customer of Getech Technology.

webhike
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:32 pm

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by webhike » Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:38 pm

Hey... Need some help with this. i switch to E1 on my A10, and did the pin swapping. But now the problem is that it will only extrude, not retract. Everything seems to be working but the extruder will not retract. When i try to retract the extruder only extrude?????? what have i done wrong

motcher41
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by motcher41 » Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:19 am

Sorry to revive old thread but could not locate an answer.
My E0 died. Swapped everything over to E1 but temp sensor for extruder showing -14 degrees. How to I fix this? Did I miss something in switching to E1 in the firmware?
Assistance would be appreciated.
Geeetech A10 GT2560V3 board
Perhaps the OP doesn't even apply to a V3 board?

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: how to change pins configuration in firmware

Post by William » Wed Oct 30, 2019 9:07 am

Hi, If the temperature of the extruder is -14 when it is normally turned on,
You can check if your extruder thermistor is fully connected.
Or measure the thermistor at the hot end.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Post Reply