Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

olliesmith
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:22 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by olliesmith » Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:33 pm

I think I had the printer powered on, providing +12v to gt2560. I'll see if I can make a better guide

giannis
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by giannis » Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:48 am

Thanks all for the informations!
I also "successfully managed to get this board back to life" with Arduino UNO as ISP.
In the code described the pins position.
// This sketch turns the Arduino into a AVRISP
// using the following arduino pins:
//
// pin name: not-mega:
// slave reset: 10:
// MOSI: 11:
// MISO: 12:
// SCK: 13:

// pin name: mega(1280 and 2560)
// slave reset: 53
// MOSI: 51
// MISO: 50
// SCK: 52

left_gangster
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:57 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by left_gangster » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:08 am

I tried all your suggestions, using Arduino 1.0.1 and 1.0.5 burning bootloader through 1.0.1, 1.0.5 and the current latest 1.6.8
my GT2560 was working before but it would not connect to any of the programs (Arduino and Repetier) and showed up on the Device Manager as COM5.
Now that I burned the bootloader using an UNO I can't see anything on the screen, as before the screen was fine, only 2 rows of blocks.
Now the L led makes 2 flashes every about 1 second, the 2 LEDs near the power line are lit and the LED above the USB connection is lit.
Please someone help me or point me towards the correct direction on what should I do.

My specs:
Windows 10 x64 Enterprice
8GB RAM
1TB HDD
AMD FX 8320 @ 3.50 MHz

EDIT: Also when I try to upload the Marlin firmware, the L light stops blinking and the Arduino IDE just keep saying Uploading, after a couple of minutes I press the reset button on the board and finally this mesage appears "avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout"

Cup
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by Cup » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:10 am

Hi,@left_gangster
Did you notice the following post?
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 20&t=17102
I think you can change another crystal oscillator to take a look.

left_gangster
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:57 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by left_gangster » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:44 pm

Cup wrote:Hi,@left_gangster
Did you notice the following post?
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 20&t=17102
I think you can change another crystal oscillator to take a look.
Yes I have seen this thread, but as I said, the board was working before, it was showing up as COM5 but it would not connect to Arduino IDE or Repetier. Should I try and risk removing the oscillator and putting another on it?
The only thing I wanted to do is reverse the X axis.

EDIT: I also noticed when I try to upload the Marlin firmware to the board, the TX and RX leds blink only once. Could it be that the FTDI chip is damaged?
EDIT2: I am trying the whole process from another Windows 8.1 lapton and will report the results here.
EDIT3: This is the error I get from Windows 8.1 after leaving Arduino IDE running for 10 minutes:

Code: Select all

avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
avrdude: stk500v2_command(): failed miserably to execute command 0x11
avrdude: stk500v2_disable(): failed to leave programming mode
EDIT4: Tried burning the bootloader again using my UNO and got this:

Code: Select all

avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x1e000
         0xff != 0x0d
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch
EDIT5: Tried the "loopback" comunication through connecting TX and RX together on the GT2560 and sent some text through Arduino IDE onto GT2560 but I do not get any response.

Cup
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by Cup » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:10 pm

You can try replacing the crystal with another one if your LCD is two rows of rectangles.

And if your LCD is working fine now,then it maybe the FTDI chip was broken,you can attach the picture of the FTDI on your board(as clear as possible,i mean the numbers on it).

In addition,there is another way to reverse X axis--modify the wiring order:
motor wiring.zip
(172.95 KiB) Downloaded 724 times

left_gangster
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:57 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by left_gangster » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:18 pm

Cup wrote:You can try replacing the crystal with another one if your LCD is two rows of rectangles.

And if your LCD is working fine now,then it maybe the FTDI chip was broken,you can attach the picture of the FTDI on your board(as clear as possible,i mean the numbers on it).

In addition,there is another way to reverse X axis--modify the wiring order:
motor wiring.zip
The screen does not show anything anymore because essentially the board does not have a firmware uploaded to it.
Here are the requested pictures of the ftdi chip (FTDI 1550-C 5657501 FT232RQ):
Image

Cup
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by Cup » Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:45 pm

@left_gangster
Did you try solder another crystal(16MHz) on the board?
I think you can have a try though i guess it's more likely the FTDI chip has a problem...

left_gangster
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:57 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by left_gangster » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:31 pm

Cup wrote:@left_gangster
Did you try solder another crystal(16MHz) on the board?
I think you can have a try though i guess it's more likely the FTDI chip has a problem...
Ok I will try this then since I have no other choice. I will report my results here.

left_gangster
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:57 am

Re: Reflash Bootloader on GT2560

Post by left_gangster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:42 am

Apparently my board has a broken ftdi chip. I did not change the oscillator and thought I should try something else. So I tried uploading the Marlin firmware to the board through the SPI interface (MOSI,MISO,SCK) using my Arduino Mega as a programmer (uploading the ArduinoISP example and then setting Arduino as ISP and uploading the sketch using programmer) and I managed to upload the firmware and got the board back to life. But still the usb port does not work, as I explained before the board is recognized by the PC on COM5 but no one of the programs (ArduinoIDE, Repetier) see it. Now I wonder if the ebay seller can send me a replacement board since this one does not have a functioning ftdi chip.

Post Reply