Extruder not working

Errol
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Extruder not working

Post by Errol » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:33 pm

I have had similar problems and it turned out to be the filament could not enter the bottom guide in the extruder. to fix it I cut a taper in the leading edge of the bottom guide tube

sadandres
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:21 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by sadandres » Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:11 pm

Fer8973 wrote:Hi,
I need help please, finally my 3D printer is working, but I have a problem with the amount of filament that is been extruded. It is not enogh. There is a significant change if I use my hand to press filament into the extruder. My 3D uses the MK8 extruder, I tried all you explain in this post but the potentiometer adjust. I don't find where the potentiometer screw is. Thanks.
Hello, I would like to know if your problem was solved by changing the potentiometer value, I have the same problem, and only with ABS.
Thanks

Fer8973
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Extruder not working

Post by Fer8973 » Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:31 pm

Post by sadandres » 24 Jun 2016 05:11
Hello, I would like to know if your problem was solved by changing the potentiometer value, I have the same problem, and only with ABS.
Thanks
Hello Sadandres, I solved the problem with the potentiometer, just adjusted it with a screwdriver. It works realy good now. If you need help you can email me.

sadandres
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:21 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by sadandres » Wed Jun 29, 2016 12:34 pm

I inspect the voltage, and I find that the A4988 at extruder side measures 0 volt between potentiometer and GND, and 5 volt between VDD and GND. I exchange with any axis to test, and now that axis only moves in one direction. I assume that my A4988 is bad, so… I'm looking for a replacement. I am right?
Thanks to all.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6330
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by William » Wed Jun 29, 2016 2:32 pm

sadandres wrote:I inspect the voltage, and I find that the A4988 at extruder side measures 0 volt between potentiometer and GND, and 5 volt between VDD and GND. I exchange with any axis to test, and now that axis only moves in one direction. I assume that my A4988 is bad, so… I'm looking for a replacement. I am right?
Thanks to all.
Hi,Sadandres
Did the voltage between potentiometer and GND have any change when you adjust the potentiometer value?
Regards
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

sadandres
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:21 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by sadandres » Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:32 pm

William Kwok wrote:
sadandres wrote:I inspect the voltage, and I find that the A4988 at extruder side measures 0 volt between potentiometer and GND, and 5 volt between VDD and GND. I exchange with any axis to test, and now that axis only moves in one direction. I assume that my A4988 is bad, so… I'm looking for a replacement. I am right?
Thanks to all.
Hi,Sadandres
Did the voltage between potentiometer and GND have any change when you adjust the potentiometer value?
Regards
No changes from zero, though moved the potentiometer no change. I finished changing the pololu, and now extrudes far more than the previous pololu, I am close to take a test, I will tell you how it goes.
Thank you.

sadandres
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:21 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by sadandres » Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:39 pm

Now are printing fine, and prints super! :D
Thanks to all.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6330
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by William » Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:30 am

sadandres wrote:Now are printing fine, and prints super! :D
Thanks to all.
Congradulations :D
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

djbuzz
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:43 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by djbuzz » Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:56 am

Hi all,

I have an I3 pro b and have just finished my build, it went OK and was not hard as I presumed although we all know it the tinkering that takes time and effort.

I have one problem:

I cannot get the extruder stepper to work here is what I've tried.

Tried both extruder ports on the board both when up to heat = nothing
Updated the firmware
Checked the extruder stepper motor works by using a cable from another axis - this worked so the stepper if fine
Check the order of wires on the cable and checked for continuity - fine
Plugged the extruder cable into one of the other stepper motors - nothing
Check the voltage on all stepper drivers all front .89v

In short, the stepper motor and cables are fine but the board is not sending the drive to the stepper motor, any ideas?

Thanks,

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6330
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Extruder not working

Post by William » Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:04 am

djbuzz wrote:Hi all,

I have an I3 pro b and have just finished my build, it went OK and was not hard as I presumed although we all know it the tinkering that takes time and effort.

I have one problem:

I cannot get the extruder stepper to work here is what I've tried.

Tried both extruder ports on the board both when up to heat = nothing
Updated the firmware
Checked the extruder stepper motor works by using a cable from another axis - this worked so the stepper if fine
Check the order of wires on the cable and checked for continuity - fine
Plugged the extruder cable into one of the other stepper motors - nothing
Check the voltage on all stepper drivers all front .89v

In short, the stepper motor and cables are fine but the board is not sending the drive to the stepper motor, any ideas?

Thanks,
Hi,
You said "Plugged the extruder cable into one of the other stepper motors - nothing" if it means the other stepper motors didn't work with the extruder cable?If so,maybe the extruder cable is broken.You can try plugging the cables from other axis into Z motor port and Z motor to see if Z motor work.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests