Bed leveling: is my unit faulty?

Draazith

Bed leveling: is my unit faulty?

Post by Draazith » Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:35 am

Hi,

I'm new to 3D printing. I received my A10 a week ago and I haven't managed to print anything useful as the first layer won't stick to the bed.

I have tried different settings (see below) but I think the problem it that the bed is "wavy" on the Y axis: when I move the bed from front to back, the distance between the bed and the nozzle varies. It's paper thin at each corner and at about 1/3 and 2/3 of the way, but it between it increases by 1-2 mm. Facing the printer, when the bed goes high on the left it goes down on the right and vice versa. The bed itself is flat though, I have checked with a spirit level.

I have also noticed that out of the four bed wheels, one on each side is slightly loose (if I hold the bed I can spin them with little resistance).

I suspect the problem to be either uneven wheels or twisted bed axis, but then again, I'm new to this so I don't really know.

Any idea how I could fix that?

Settings I've tried so far (using Cura):

Layer height: 0.1, 0.15, 0.2
Initial layer height: 0.3, 0.14, 0.18
Build plate adhesion: none, skirt, brim, raft
Enable retraction: off and on
Everything else is default settings (print temp 200°C, bed temp 60°C, print speed 60 mm/s, initial layer speed 30 mm/s).

Let me know if there's any relevant settings or details I should share.

Thanks.

BennyBoyW

Re: Bed leveling: is my unit faulty?

Post by BennyBoyW » Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:49 am

I had a similar issue with mine.
The wheels under the bed need to be sorted out for you to progress. There should be no "looseness" on the bed at all. The wheels on the left hand side as you look from the front just need to be tight, but the ones on the right hand side are on eccentric nuts/spacers, which means that the hole through them is not central, and therefore can be used to tighten or loosen the beds grip on the central rail.