Y axis movement Issues

Post Reply
Super
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:02 am

Y axis movement Issues

Post by Super » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:23 pm

Hi.
I recently had a problem with my printer giving a MAXTEMP BED error. and was advised that the fix was to replace the motherboard (GT-2560 REV A+). [Previous thread: http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 11#p101327 ]

I replaced the board with a brand new GT-2560 A+ and the previous MAXTEMP error has been resolved.

However, now I have a new problem, I am unable to get the printer to move on the Y axis.

I have attempted some basic troubleshooting, swapping the A4988 motor driver modules between X, Y, Z and Extruder, as well as swapping the motor and cables. each time the issue still happens only on the Y axis.

I have followed the instructions posted by Mark on the Possible solutions for motors do not move tread, and all voltages, jumpers and orientation of the A4988 modules are correct.

I have also flashed the firmware using Firmware Toolkit and attempted both Marlin1.0.04_01 and I3proW_V1.0.05

None of these attempts have had any effect on the Y axis issues I am experiencing.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4367
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by William » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:27 pm

Hi, You can see if you can manually push the hotbed to move,
Then check the rail and the lock nut of the hotbed.
I hope this can help you.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Super
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by Super » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:40 pm

William wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:27 pm
Hi, You can see if you can manually push the hotbed to move,
Then check the rail and the lock nut of the hotbed.
I hope this can help you.
Hi William.
The bed moves freely.
I have swapped the cables between the X and Y, the bed can move, (by controlling X) but the extruder does not when attempting to move Y

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4367
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by William » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:01 am

Hi, That should be caused by damage to the motor cable, you need to replace it.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Super
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by Super » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:30 am

William wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:01 am
Hi, That should be caused by damage to the motor cable, you need to replace it.
Hi William and thanks for the suggestion.

As i mentioned earlier, when I swap the cable from the Y port to X, the motor works, so the issue could not with the cable.
I believe I have received a damaged replacement GT-2560 board.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4367
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by William » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:37 am

Hi, Did you change the position of the motor line on the motherboard when exchanging the motor wires?

Or is it just swapping the position where the inserted motor cable is inserted into the motor?

If only the position where the motor is inserted is exchanged, the motor line is faulty;

If both are swapped, the motherboard port is faulty.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Super
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by Super » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:40 am

I swapped the Cable and motor together.
Simply unplugged from Y and plugged into X on the mothernoard

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4367
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Y axis movement Issues

Post by William » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:02 am

Super wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:40 am
I swapped the Cable and motor together.
Simply unplugged from Y and plugged into X on the mothernoard
Hi, If there is no exchange of the position of the motor line on the main board, then it is a problem of the motor line.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests