Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post Reply
Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Sun May 02, 2021 2:45 am

Hi,
Using Cura 4.9.0 and A30T and tried my first two prints.
At 50% through printing the same .stl file ( but with differing settings in Cura) I'm getting about a 2mm shift in Y axis for the remainder of the print.
Photos are a top view with two end views.
I've no idea if this is a Cura problem or a problem with the A30T.
The .stl model does not have this shift, nor it it apparent in Preview or post Slice.
Tomorrow I'll try using either Repetier or Easy Printer but some input from here would be appreciated.
Attachments
20210501_195049.jpg
20210501_195049.jpg (163.1 KiB) Viewed 603 times
20210501_195148.jpg
20210501_195148.jpg (156.81 KiB) Viewed 603 times
20210501_195621.jpg
20210501_195621.jpg (158.55 KiB) Viewed 603 times

User avatar
Admin
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:49 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Admin » Thu May 06, 2021 5:35 pm

Hello, the reason for the layer shift may be the printing speed is too fast or the tightness of the belt.
You can reduce the printing speed to 40mm/s, and tighten the belt appropriately to see if you can restore the layer shift.
If the layer shift still occurs, it is recommended to update the firmware, it may be a firmware problem:
https://www.geeetech.com/download.html?download_id=52

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Sat May 08, 2021 1:39 am

Thanks,
I'm on Firmware V1.02.03 and the print speed was15mm/s
Checked all the belts.
I rotated the model 90° an it printed without a problem.
Printed other models since and the problem has not occurred.
It's a mystery!

Not wishing to offend but are there after market precision stepper motors available for retrofit?

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Mon May 10, 2021 6:34 pm

Admin wrote:
Thu May 06, 2021 5:35 pm
Hello, the reason for the layer shift may be the printing speed is too fast or the tightness of the belt.
You can reduce the printing speed to 40mm/s, and tighten the belt appropriately to see if you can restore the layer shift.
If the layer shift still occurs, it is recommended to update the firmware, it may be a firmware problem:
https://www.geeetech.com/download.html?download_id=52
I've had the Y axis shift problem again.
I had previously printed one of the models without a problem, so it is not an issue in the gcode.
I have the latest Firmware and all the belts are taught.
If you look at the photo, there was a shift early in the print which I hadn't noticed and then the second about 48 hours in to the print.

The only thing I can think of is that the cables to the print head snagged on the print or something.

Please may I have photo of how the various cables should be secured to ensure they never snag on anything being printed when using the full area and height of the table.
I'm hoping my glass table arrives in the next couple of days!
Jonathon
Attachments
2nd Y Axis shift.jpg
2nd Y Axis shift.jpg (210.14 KiB) Viewed 532 times

mlauber
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 10:54 pm

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by mlauber » Thu May 13, 2021 5:06 am

It's not just you having this problem! Checked vref, belt tension, loose pulley's... Still happening.

I order some s42b closed loop drivers to hopefully correct the issue.
IMG_20210512_170029.jpg
IMG_20210512_170029.jpg (181.5 KiB) Viewed 511 times

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Fri May 14, 2021 2:39 am

mlauber wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 5:06 am
It's not just you having this problem! Checked vref, belt tension, loose pulley's... Still happening.
I order some s42b closed loop drivers to hopefully correct the issue.
IMG_20210512_170029.jpg
Thanks, checked all that. The problem is intermittent .
My two S42B V2.0 have arrived, they come without instructions. I thought they would be Plug & Play!
This shows how to install them.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eM8zSG8fEkk

Two things,
a) I don't think my motherboard GTM32_103_V1 is compatible, drivers not removeable. See Photo.
b) I could physically fit them but the programming is way beyond my ability.

I've asked Geeetech if there is a motherboard for the A30T that has removeable stepper drivers. Not holding my breath.

If you find a solution to a) and b) above, I'd be very grateful to hear and also instructions re programming!
20210430_085808.jpg
20210430_085808.jpg (344.08 KiB) Viewed 489 times

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Fri May 14, 2021 2:48 am

mlauber wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 5:06 am
It's not just you having this problem! Checked vref, belt tension, loose pulley's... Still happening.

I order some s42b closed loop drivers to hopefully correct the issue.

IMG_20210512_170029.jpg
I have bad news.
Reply from Geeetech:-
"Hello, thank you for your letter.
At present, the latest GTM32_103_V1 motherboard does not have a version that can replace the driver. Only the old motherboard can replace the driver, but it is not compatible with the new printer. This is the wiring diagram of the two motherboards. You can see that there are many incompatibility.
Regards."

I'm going to sell my A30T then tell everyone of its limitations.

mlauber
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 10:54 pm

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by mlauber » Sat May 15, 2021 7:50 am

Good news bad news. I guess I have an older board cause my driver's are replaceable. Bad news is I can't get it to function with s42b V2. Turns on, I calibrate it, reset it as instructed and then I go to move the hot end around using the controller and the touchscreen becomes completely unresponsive. Turn it off and back on and try to print something.... The y axis moves at the very beginning and centers the bed and the bead and hotend warm up but it just sits there and doesn't print. Tried and few more times and the z-axis moves and become unresponsive after rose 30-40 mm and then started grinding; a few times it tried to drive the hotend through the bed and the steppers start grinding. The x axis doesn't move at all. All this is "funny" because the only thing I changed was the closed loop on the y-axis. It definitely doesn't like something though!

Not sure where to go from here.

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Mon May 17, 2021 1:58 am

Sorry to hear you've not been able to get the S42b motors integrated.
I had thought about downgrading my motherboard to the old one but Geeetech told me my later version of the A30T was not compatible.
I also considered buying an A20T but I think the latest version has non replaceable drivers OR an older motherboard such as yours. Your experience has put me off if it has the older motherboard ;-)
I'm intending to return my A30T as failing to print successfully.
I've ordered a Wyze camera to film the printer for the 3 day duration of printing and prove the printer has a major problem in the Y axis at least twice during the print.
Then I'll give Geeetech the video, Cura gcode and stl files along with my demand for a refund.
Having a motherboard with non replaceable drivers is a major product flaw.
I'd happily have paid double the price if an A30T was available supplied with closed loop stepper motors.
For the cost of closed loop stepper motors, why are they not on all 3D printers either as standard of a paid for optional extra.

Flapjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:53 am

Re: Shift in Y axis 50% through print

Post by Flapjack » Mon May 17, 2021 2:06 am

Admin wrote:
Thu May 06, 2021 5:35 pm
Hello, the reason for the layer shift may be the printing speed is too fast or the tightness of the belt.
You can reduce the printing speed to 40mm/s, and tighten the belt appropriately to see if you can restore the layer shift.
If the layer shift still occurs, it is recommended to update the firmware, it may be a firmware problem:
https://www.geeetech.com/download.html?download_id=52
In my previous replies where I said I had checked everything you mentioned, I forgot to mention my print speed is 25mm/s

Post Reply