Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:24 am

andy, one more foolish question...are you using a computer or the LCD on the printer? I seem to recall I couldn't move the nozzle below 0 in Repetier, but could move it using the move axis menu on the LCD. If you are using the LCD, I am flummoxed. If I could see your config.h file, I might spot the problem. I have spent a fair amount of time wading around in mine, LOL.

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:27 am

andy, here is a post from another thread that may help:

Also; when you connect with USB, and for example Repetier-Host, you can simple send the Following commands:

"M211 S0" => Disable Software endstops
Do your calibration, after sending M211 S0, you will be able to select Move Z-Axis => 0.1mm and move negative.
"M211 S1" => Enable Software endstops.

Benefits are that the firmware software endstop is enforced on printer restart.
So you only need it for calibration.

I didn't know this myself.....

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Fri Mar 23, 2018 12:53 am

Hi,
Attached my Firmware. I use the repetier host to move Z axis and send all commands.

I've tried with:
#define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_RANGE_MIN -20
#define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_RANGE_MAX 20

and

#define min_software_endstops false

The lastest is the same that "M211 S0" command I think, but I hardcoded in firmware.

BL touch sensor works but nozzle never moves down. I have tried to put -20 and 20 but nozzle is always about 2mm from bed
Attachments
OriginalBL.zip
firmwareBLTouch
(299.51 KiB) Downloaded 489 times

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Fri Mar 23, 2018 12:57 am

To move Z axis I use the LCD with Prepare>Move>z Axis>0.1mm, I use Repetier Host to send commands and then send Z Home to check altitude.

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:49 am

andy, I checked your configuration.h file against my old one, and didn't see any differences. I must admit I am perplexed as to why mine works, and your's doesn't. When I get a minute, I'll upload your file to my printer and see if I can replicate your problem. I'm sure it's a setting somewhere that we are overlooking.

Szandor
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 9:44 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by Szandor » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:07 am

I have finally installed my BLTouch sensor, and lo and behold, nothing works. Where the firmware 1.1.8 without BLTouch (was commented out) went very well. Now I have the problem that at the car home and at the car bed level the Z axis goes up to test? BLTouch sensor blinks and also drops the needle every now and then, but then it goes up again. Help, do not quite understand what's going wrong now. Meanwhile, the Z axis is pretty high up and after each restart it drives even higher. Does anyone have an idea what goes wrong here?

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6338
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by William » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:45 am

Szandor wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:07 am
I have finally installed my BLTouch sensor, and lo and behold, nothing works. Where the firmware 1.1.8 without BLTouch (was commented out) went very well. Now I have the problem that at the car home and at the car bed level the Z axis goes up to test? BLTouch sensor blinks and also drops the needle every now and then, but then it goes up again. Help, do not quite understand what's going wrong now. Meanwhile, the Z axis is pretty high up and after each restart it drives even higher. Does anyone have an idea what goes wrong here?
I think you should check the wiring of your mainboard again.
You can send M280 P0 S120 for a test.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:41 am

I agree with William..also, I once had the 2-pin connector from the BL to the Z-min socket reversed, and it acted similar to what you describe, if memory serves.

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:06 pm

ok, I have was able to configure bl touch in Marlin 1.1.8
I have follow these instruction from a youtube video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_1Kg45 ... _A&index=1
My problem was the 7 step. I thought that M851 Z-XXXX was the nozzle offset, but it wasnot

Z-Offset Instructions:
1. Home 3D printer
2. M851 Z0 - Reset Z0Offset
3. M500 - Store setting to eeprom
4. M501 - Set active parameters
5. M503 - Display Active Parameters
6. G28 Z - Home Z Axis
7. G1 F60 Z0 - Move nozzle to true 0 offset
8. M211 S0 - Switch off soft endstops
9. Move nozzle towards bed slowly until the paper can barely move
10. Take note of the Z on the printer display (take that number and add the measurment of the calibration sheet or device used)
11. M851 Z X.XX (X.XX being your z offset achieved)
12. M211 S1 - Enable Soft Endstops
13. M500 - Save settings to Eeprom
14. M501 - Set Active Parameters
15. M503 - display current settings

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:12 am

I have a little problem with left T8 screw. before send to print I check the altitude from both t8 screw and the left It is always behind than right. Then I put a same altitude for both screws and I print the piece and then when it has finished the left is another time behind the right so I dont know what happens.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks!

Locked