Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

veromero
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:01 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by veromero » Wed Nov 09, 2016 4:57 am

Hi! Im Vero from Argentina!
The extruder of my Geeetech I3 ProB is not working correctly. I upload the frimware available in this forum but its still not working correctly.
When I set to extrude 100mm/s It extrude only 10mm/s (but this shows that the motor works), but then when I send it to print the motor of the extruder doesn't move even a little.
I have another extruder so I changed it in order to identificate the problem, but it happens the same thing. So the problem is on the board. Then I changed the controller chip (or driver chip) and mesured the pololu but these things are OK..
Someone have any idea what could be the problem? and any solution? Can I do some changes on the frimware and exchange Extruder 1 with extruder 2 pin or something like that?

I really appreciate your help :D

gpau
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:35 pm

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by gpau » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:47 am

i,
I put the new marlin, but now for the X-axis should not be more right, is on the contrary.
In the opposite direction to home

ggg666
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by ggg666 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:13 am

gpau wrote:i,
I put the new marlin, but now for the X-axis should not be more right, is on the contrary.
In the opposite direction to home
You may want to read this:
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 17&t=17037

wespiece
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:10 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by wespiece » Sun Dec 25, 2016 10:25 pm

I downloaded the new Marlin firmware but when i try to compile it in the auduino, i get the following errors.
What do i do to correct this?

Also how can tell what version is in my board now vs what version this - just wondering if maybe i already have the most current firmware. My board/printer what just shipped to me last week.

i am having the same issue as others, extruder is barely feeding or not feeding at all. I have checked the nozzle and its fine and not clogged. I can manually push filament thru it no problem when it hot.


Arduino: 1.8.0 (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"

In file included from sketch\Marlin.h:23:0,

from sketch\thermistortables.h:4,

from sketch\Configuration.h:792,

from C:\Users\wpierce\Desktop\3d printer\Marlin\Marlin.ino:33:

sketch\pins.h:2956:0: warning: "X_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define X_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1363:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define X_MAX_PIN 24

^

sketch\pins.h:2957:0: warning: "Y_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define Y_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1369:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define Y_MAX_PIN 28

^

sketch\pins.h:2958:0: warning: "Z_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define Z_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1375:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define Z_MAX_PIN 32

^

In file included from sketch\Marlin.h:23:0,

from sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:30:

sketch\pins.h:2956:0: warning: "X_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define X_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1363:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define X_MAX_PIN 24

^

sketch\pins.h:2957:0: warning: "Y_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define Y_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1369:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define Y_MAX_PIN 28

^

sketch\pins.h:2958:0: warning: "Z_MAX_PIN" redefined

#define Z_MAX_PIN -1

^

sketch\pins.h:1375:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition

#define Z_MAX_PIN 32

^

sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:2667:36: warning: invalid suffix on literal; C++11 requires a space between literal and string macro [-Wliteral-suffix]

LCD_MESSAGEPGM(MACHINE_NAME" "MSG_OFF".");

^

In file included from sketch\SdFile.h:27:0,

from sketch\cardreader.h:8,

from sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:44:

SdBaseFile.h:38: error: using typedef-name 'fpos_t' after 'struct'

struct fpos_t {

^

In file included from sketch\Marlin.h:10:0,

from sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:30:

c:\program files (x86)\arduino\hardware\tools\avr\avr\include\stdio.h:950:33: note: 'fpos_t' has a previous declaration here

__extension__ typedef long long fpos_t;

^

exit status 1
using typedef-name 'fpos_t' after 'struct'

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

wespiece
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:10 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by wespiece » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:35 pm

I was able to fix the issue of not being able to compile by dropping back to ver 1.05 of the Arduino software. This allowed me to update the firmware in the controller board. This fixed my reverse X axis issue, but I am still having problems with the extruder. If i turn the flow up it seems like it does not make any difference. I tried turning it up via the speed and via the flow settings in the LCD menu, but i am not seeing any noticeable increase in the filament flow. I get tiny amounts of flow but not enough to print consistently. Please help with anything else i can try. I have been working on this issue for 3 days now and don't seem to be making any progress.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by William » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:52 am

Hi,@wespiece
You mean you have no sufficient filament coming out during printing?
Refer to this post to see if you have the same probelm:
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 19&t=18507
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

wespiece
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:10 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by wespiece » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:55 am

Yes that is exactly the problem. GEEETech needs to step up and include the better quality extruder. Mine was slipping as well. I 1st tested the theory by wedging a screw under the thumb release lever. I could see that it started to catch and move the filament. From there i did like they said and modified the extruder so it would roll tighter to the gear. For now i have resorted to stretching the spring. I have ordered the upgraded extruder for $7 off ebay.
Why would GT no just include this. I'm sure this has caused tons of frustration for new users. All to save maybe $3

idom
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 12:00 pm

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by idom » Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:34 am

hey what kind of extruder upgrade did you used? I also streched the spring but it still skips filament

wespiece
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:10 am

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by wespiece » Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:15 am

I ordered the Geeetech aluminum model. This one seems to be better but i still had to rig up a spacer under the spring to keep extra tension on the wheel.

ddmorrice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:02 pm

Re: Solutions for GT2560 extruder not working

Post by ddmorrice » Mon Jun 29, 2020 11:42 pm

daveapplemotors wrote:
Sun Oct 02, 2016 8:29 am
Thanks.

In order to access E1 because E0 quit working I spent 4 days doing a work-around.

My efforts to upload firmware to my Geeetech Prusa i3 a pro:

I gave up on Windows 10 machine with Arduino 1.0.1

I returned to my laptop-- Ubuntu 16.04 --Arduino 1.68 or whatever is newest. I found someone's direction about a u8glui (spelling?) library. I linked that library, ran the Marlin software, swapped the pin assignments for all three values for E1 and E0 and voila. it works.

What would I have to do if that second Extruder circuit fails? Buy a new board? It is bad now isn't it? I want to upgrade to a M201 soon and I will need two extruders.

thanks
Dave

Thanks for updating this Dave. Quite helpful to me in 2020.

Did you ever manage to get the other extruder working? Or did you just stick with E1?

As you may have guessed I am having the exact same issue and I'm just getting ready to move it all over to linux 🙄
I'm looking for this library now but all that's coming up from searching is an LCD library.

Thanks for any reply.

Post Reply