Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post Reply
ACHRISTE
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:33 am

Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post by ACHRISTE » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:35 pm

Hi.

I bought via ebay an i3 acrylic, and had a lot of problems:
* Stepper motor drivers were so bad that I hat to tune the value for each one of them
* Motors were so poor that they were missing steps (ruining a print after 5 hours....)

So, to try to solve these problems, I bought some new stepper motors to replace the pancakes I received (ordered from geeetech on Alibaba).. Much better but, very very very noisy, so, I decided to buy new stepper motor drivers DRV8825 on ebay.
I plugged one (X axis), without any issue, and when I tried to plug the second one (Y axis), and replug/restart my printer, I heard a scream (bip) from my machine.
I had ruined my main board (all the heaters were giving current, impossible to connect to the mainboard via USB).

So I ordered a new mainboard (2950) via ebay, and my 1st test was to plug it without anything pluged on, on my machine, to see if the board is accessible via the arduino software, and it was not.
I was a bit surprised, but I decided to go downstairs, plug the MB, originals stepper motors, and the LCD (and nothing more) and the result is that I have nothing displayed on the LCD, and a led is blinking (amber)
Image

Do you have any idea on what goes wrong with my printer :
- LCD ?
- PSU ?
- Bad mainboard sent by geeetech ?

I have to say that this printer spent more time out of order because of poor elements than in use, so I would really like to be able to use it as I should have been able from day 1, and I spent 50% of the printer price ordering parts that should had been in the package. So before spending 60$ in a new PSU and LCD, I would like to be 100% sure that I will not burn that money!

ACHRISTE
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:33 am

Re: Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post by ACHRISTE » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:38 pm

Sorry, when I wrote :
plug the MB, originals stepper motors,
I wanted to say : plug the MB, originals stepper motor drivers (A4988)

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4003
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post by William » Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:58 pm

Hi,
Regarding your new mainboard,you can try only with power cable and USB cable connected:
1.Give power to the board,generally some leds are on.
2.Then plug the USB cable to your computer.
3.Check if the board is detected by computer in device manager.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

ACHRISTE
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:33 am

Re: Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post by ACHRISTE » Sat Nov 12, 2016 4:30 am

Thanks William.

I did that, and the mainboard was recognized by the PC.
I then upload the firmware in the mainboard, after that, the LCD had started to display the usual stuff. I felt much much better :D
Then, I reinstalled my stepper motor controllers.

And when I had my problem, I burnt not only my original mainboard, but also a 4988 stepper controller.
Hopefully, I had some in spare :D

The printer reworks, I am very happy.

The LCD and the PSU works perfectly fine.

I learned my lesson.... Don't touch a running system :D

Once more, I can say a big thank you to William.

JoelArnold
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:09 pm

Re: Issues with the Prusa i3 pro B

Post by JoelArnold » Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:14 pm

ACHRISTE wrote:
Sat Nov 12, 2016 4:30 am
Thanks William.

I did that, and the mainboard was recognized by the PC.
I then upload the firmware in the mainboard, after that, the LCD had started to display the usual stuff. I felt much much better :D
Then, I reinstalled my stepper motor controllers.

And when I had my problem, I burnt not only my original mainboard, but also a 4988 stepper controller.
Hopefully, I had some in spare :D

The printer reworks, I am very happy.
https://theessayservice.org/buy-book-review/
The LCD and the PSU works perfectly fine.

I learned my lesson.... Don't touch a running system :D

Once more, I can say a big thank you to William.
One time I did something to my mainboard that made my system run smoothly. I do not even know what was that, but I was happy with the outcome.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests