BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post Reply
goldrake999
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:00 am

BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by goldrake999 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:10 am

Hi, I’m a new user and I’m owner of a A20M.
I bought a BLTouch sensor instead of the clone 3DTouch since many people are not so happy about it.
My question is: the firmware A20M_Marlin-1.1.x12864_3DTouch is BLTouch ready or it works only with 3DTouch ?

If it not compatible, can you help me to modify the firmware ?

Thank you

DzzD
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:52 pm

Re: BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by DzzD » Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:44 am

First, I think it is 100% compatible.
Second, you have made the right choice, I bought two 3D touch and both have a very high standard déviation and so are unusable.

goldrake999
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:00 am

Re: BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by goldrake999 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:55 pm

OK, thank you. I will try when I receive it. I hope that in the mean time someone tell me that has already installed and it is fully working.

Bye

User avatar
vert
Site Admin
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: Marlin Dev
Contact:

Re: BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by vert » Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:34 am

i have 2 3dtouchs they work ok but i would not recommend them to anyone buy a real one.
the 3dtouch is just a cheap clone of the bltouch you get what you pay for.
can confirm bltouch is the feature in marlin that is used for 3dtouch.
its more like the 3dtouch is compatible with bltouch feature.

goldrake999
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:00 am

Re: BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by goldrake999 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 1:50 pm

Hi, I gave my BLTouch to a friend of mine to double check it and it is fully working, so after reading some threads in various forum, I have seen that I'm non the only one with this problem since my version of Marlin is 1.1.8 and my BLTouch is a BLTouch Smart V3.0 or V3.1 so someone upgrading to Marlin 2.0 was able to let it works.
Can someone give me a feedback ?

goldrake999
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:00 am

Re: BLTouch instead of 3DTouch

Post by goldrake999 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:58 pm

Thank you, so I will flash it with Marlin 2.0 and I will give you feedback.
Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests