Need help with my geeetech a20

JinstKebe

Need help with my geeetech a20

Post by JinstKebe » Wed Aug 04, 2021 2:52 pm

Hey guys, so I'm new to 3D printing. I've got my hands on a geeetech a20 and after assembling the printer with the help of an awful manual, it was almost ready. To level the printer, the manual told me to fasten all four feather screws that hold up the hotbed. After I did that, I turned the printer on and pressed "auto home". The printer automatically moved the nozzle to the bottom left nearside corner. But here's my problem: Since the Z axes is already down so much that the Z POS Sensor doesn't allow any further movement down, the nozzle is about 5-10mm above the hotbed. Does anyone know a fix for that? I think moving it up with the feather screws will mess up the evenness of the hotbed.

Thank's already!

sebasd

Re: Need help with my geeetech a20

Post by sebasd » Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:16 pm

Hi
Yes the manual that comes with the A20 is horrible.
I watched a youtube video that some guy made of the setup of the A20 and that was great.

You should not tighten the feather screws, only adjust it so the nozzle head is tight to the bed.
The paper supplied with the printed to check distance for the nozzle head is okay but it could have been a hard material.

After you pressed "Auto home", there is an option in the menu "Calibrate corner" or something like that, I am not in front of my working A20 right now. Use that to align all four corners. The printer head will move to each corner and you should check with the paper that the distance is correct. You should feel some force when dragging the paper under the nozzle but you should not damage the paper.

Keep adjusting the feather screws one at a time at all four corners. When its done and you are happy with the settings, everything is clear to go.

Hope this helps you a bit.
This forum seems very quiet unfortunately.