Page 1 of 3

Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:37 pm
by Ricky1966
Hi everybody. Someone knows if is possible to adapt this hotend on a A10?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2018-New-Thr ... 2886394014

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:45 am
by Wingding5
I have an A10M. so take my advise with a grain of salt. :)

it would probably depend on your main board. (may be post a few more details?)

If you have 2350 v3 board, similar to the one for A10M, then they should have stepper driver ports separate and up to 3. so you probably will have to solder a few headers to incorporate all three on the board. if not, then maybe getting a new board with 3 drivers will be useful.
if you do all that then, its just the matter of enabling the setting for third extruder in firmware and theoretically you should be good to go.

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:19 pm
by Ricky1966
Tks Wingding5.

I'm looking for update my A10. The board is 2560 vers. 3. I think ther isn't third slot for extruder, so probably isn't possible to do a RGB hotend. I've also thinking to do a differtly approce; if is possible, to take the pins of one of the two extruders slots, and use it with shift register. I realy don't know if is possible, but.....

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:11 pm
by _kaktus_
Hello.
:mrgreen:

I suggest to take a look at the circuit scheme of the controller board. :D
.
extruders+heat_GT2560v3.jpg
extruders+heat_GT2560v3.jpg (132.2 KiB) Viewed 2757 times
.
I marked an area from which it follows that the equipment has been prepared universally, and it is possible to implement such a scenario.
.
In your considerations, you must also consider the capabilities of the firmware and the power supply you own.
;)

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:20 pm
by Ricky1966
@ _kaktus_

Tks for your answer. Maybe next time is better I'm look the board before ask :D
As I'm away from home, the board have just a third driver for E2 motor or I need to buy it? Do you think is possible to customize A10 or A10M with tri channel hotend? Which changeing is needed for the hotend attach?

O.T. is possible to do a forum session for Linux user?

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:14 am
by _kaktus_
Hi.
:mrgreen:

You have to buy an additional stepstick module in your area. :roll:

But pay attention to what I wrote earlier ...

And remember that modifying parts of equipment is not everything. :roll:
The topic you have raised is very interesting, and I think that theoretically it should be possible to implement. ;)
Being in your place I would start by finding the right firmware version.

Then you would have to find a triple hot-end and develop a handle.
Buy the necessary extruders, come up with a mounting ...

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:50 pm
by Ricky1966
@_kaktus_

Tks for your answer. Before at all, I want to look inside firmware between A10 and A10M difference in Extruder section. After, I'will going to think about how to mount the trhee extruders. I've an idea, I'll revise A10, I'll leave E0 on place and E1 and E2 like A10M.

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:01 pm
by _kaktus_
Hi
:mrgreen:

Wooowwwww ... :D :shock:
Your idea went beyond my wildest expectations ...

Tell us about the progress of your project. You have an ardent supporter within me.
:lol:

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:27 pm
by Ricky1966
@ _kaktus_

My problem is not the ideas, I produce it a tons, my problem is day, I need a 48 hours pro day

Re: Tricolor Hotend

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:37 pm
by _kaktus_
He he.
:lol:

I am having similar problems.

I will be of good cheer.
I wish you to be able to do everything a short time.
;)