Z axis printing problem

Nasir13
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:45 am

Z axis printing problem

Post by Nasir13 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:51 pm

Hello,

I have a newly purchased and assembled i3 Pro W, and am encountering issues with the Z axis.
After I prepare and calibration z axis with bed and starting the printing, z axis take position higher than bed 0.3!! :roll: which affect the printing.

IMG_5179.jpg
IMG_5179.jpg (352.87 KiB) Viewed 1748 times
IMG_5177.jpg
IMG_5177.jpg (234.63 KiB) Viewed 1748 times
IMG_5176.jpg
IMG_5176.jpg (376.51 KiB) Viewed 1748 times

How i can solve that and make z axis good position during the printing?.
I need your advise :(

keyser187
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by keyser187 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:31 am

Hi,
How did you calibrate the z axis?
Going by the pics, your first layer height is 0.3 but it looks like your nozzle is too high from the bed.

Nasir13
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:45 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by Nasir13 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:45 am

Hi Keyser187,
Actually i have did calibrate with piece of paper.. and when i set home, the nozzel be perfect level with bed. But the problem when starting printing it will start with 0.3! And that really big gaps between nozzle and bad :roll:

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1161
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by _kaktus_ » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:38 am

Hello.
:mrgreen:

Did you check the position of the model in Slicer?
;)
On the forum I help to use the rod, I don't give fish.
Geeetech Prusa I3 M201 Dual extruder Mixcolor 3D printer, bought 2017-12-19, already built, in the cognitive and improvement phase
Geeetech filament, ABS only
Geeetech 3D WiFi Module for 3D Printer, bought 2018-04-15, He got a new life, and still lies in a drawer.
Positively frenzied customer of Getech Technology.

Nasir13
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:45 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by Nasir13 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:49 am

How? :?

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1161
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by _kaktus_ » Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:38 am

;)
For example, this way:
Screenshot_20181010_053025.png
Screenshot_20181010_053025.png (164.38 KiB) Viewed 1680 times

:D
On the forum I help to use the rod, I don't give fish.
Geeetech Prusa I3 M201 Dual extruder Mixcolor 3D printer, bought 2017-12-19, already built, in the cognitive and improvement phase
Geeetech filament, ABS only
Geeetech 3D WiFi Module for 3D Printer, bought 2018-04-15, He got a new life, and still lies in a drawer.
Positively frenzied customer of Getech Technology.

keyser187
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by keyser187 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:53 pm

also if you have Manual Bed Leveling on, try turning that off and try again (you probably wont have this feature unless you have updated firmware to marlin 1.1.8)

Nasir13
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:45 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by Nasir13 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:46 pm

hello keyser187,

I have try upload marlin 1.1.8 but! get error!? :roll: :idea:
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 12.44.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 12.44.55 PM.png (479.88 KiB) Viewed 1650 times

keyser187
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by keyser187 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:01 am

viewtopic.php?f=82&t=61011
Try this 1 that I got working on my pro w
Also update arduino version to upload or it dosnt work

vujsa
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:17 am

Re: Z axis printing problem

Post by vujsa » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:31 am

I'm having the exact same issue. I can't say for sure the gap between the printer nozzel and the bed but 0.3mm looks about right.
I tried uploading the firmwareversion from the previous post but the results were the same...

2 days ago I decided to update my firmware. I simply used the firmware .hex file supplied on the download page of the geeetech website.
Prior to this, I was successfully printing models but they were pretty rough. I was hoping a firmware update might improve the print quality. Yeah, I'm pretty new at this! I wasn't planning to become proficient in Pronterface and Arduino today!

This wasn't a problem until the initial firmware update.
I've used different models and different slicers but the result is always the same.

Now support just messaged me after a day and a half telling me to set my Z axis offset to -0.5mm.
No clue how to do that to be honest but I'll dig into it.

In the meantime if someone knows how to resolve the issue I'd very much appreciate the information.

Thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest