Need help with getting printer to work..

fairyg

Need help with getting printer to work..

Post by fairyg » Fri Jan 03, 2020 4:17 am

Im a newbie to this .. and i have managed to assembele the printer my self with the help of a few vids on you tube .. and how .. I have plugged the printer on and plugged it in to the USB to the Mac, the lcd says card ok start test .. but when I have tried to use the nob tail nothing happens and when i press t it makes a strong noise .. I have tired un plugging the USB but it still says the same but doesn't do anything ..

One person said on facebook to download the stl convert it to gcode then to put it on the sd card then to the printer .. which I don't know what stl or code are or where to get them or anything at all really ..then another person said you don't have to if you have it plugged in by USB ..

Then lots of people are saying download different software etc
before when i ve gone on to the website and tried downloading stuff it either came up with error code or wasn't support by website .. if anyone has a vid or even instruction would be great on weather or not the printer has a driver alaready installed or do i to it my self , if so wear and how .. then what program and all that firmware jazz stuff i need also and what are stl and g code and where do i getthwm from .. Sorry about the blondness of me .. Just mine never came with instructions , the list was all wrong and in wrong order plus the websites came up error ..

William
Site Admin

Re: Need help with getting printer to work..

Post by William » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:44 am

:D Hi, If you want to use slicing software,
You can download Repetier Host and follow the instructions to set up the printer.
https://www.geeetech.com/download.html?download_id=34

The loaded 3D model in STL format can be found at: http://www.thingiverse.com/
But the printer can only recognize gcode format files,
So you need to slice the STL format file,
Then you can print it,