Page 1 of 4

Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:11 pm
by William
Hi,guys
Today i wanna share some problems i encountered in using 3D Touch and list what i've done to deal with them.

I believe i'm not the only one who has encountered them so hope it helps that ones.

You guys can list the problems what not mentioned.

1.The LED keeps flashing/blinking all the time
When this happens,it means we need to fix it before we start to print.Follow the steps:
1)Send the commend "M280 P0 S160" to release the alarm in Repetier Host.
QQ截图20161026140704.jpg
QQ截图20161026140704.jpg (37.56 KiB) Viewed 51397 times
2)Rotate the screw on the top of 3D Touch with a screwdriver to lift up the NEEDLE,cuz the NEEDLE may drop down a little somehow.
3)Keep rotating the screw until it reaches a critical point,and the point i mean is the LED will turn off if you continue to turn it a bit towards that direction.
Note:It's the goal to let the LED keep on.
You can refer to the video if you want more details:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ix7lXvf ... e=youtu.be

2.Test if 3D Touch has prepared to work with 4 commends before print
This step is to make sure 3D Touch is in a normal working state,only when it performs normal can we use it to make "Auto levelling".
Still in Repetier Host,input the following commends and send them to test it one by one:
M280 P0 S10 ; pushes the pin down
M280 P0 S90 ; pulls the pin up
M280 P0 S120 ; Self test – keeps going until you do pin up/down or release alarm
M280 P0 S160 ; Release alarm
Here is a video to show how it performs when it is in a normal status:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjzGO1I ... e=youtu.be

3.The distance between the nozzle and the heatbed is still too far or close after "Auto levelling"
This case is common because of the slight difference by the different assembly.Don't worry about it cuz we just need to modify one parameter in the firmware:

Code: Select all

#define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER -1.4
1)When the distance is too far(loose),we just need to increase the absolute value of the parameter,
for example,i increase it to -2.1 from -1.4 when the distance is not that far.We can send a G-code "M851" to check if we've modified the parameter successfully.
Before modifying:
M851.jpg
M851.jpg (22.27 KiB) Viewed 51397 times
3.jpg
3.jpg (10.17 KiB) Viewed 51395 times
After modifying:
2.5.jpg
2.5.jpg (10.58 KiB) Viewed 51395 times
2)Similarly,we decrease the value to -0.7 from -1.4 when it is too close.
Some guys said they failed to modify the parameter,it does exist.
At this moment,you should comment(disable) the EEPROM function in the firmware:

Code: Select all

#define EEPROM_SETTINGS
2.jpg
2.jpg (30.48 KiB) Viewed 51395 times
After that,the modifying would work i guess.

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:10 pm
by UndCon
Hi!
Thanks for the support. In my case the sensor is connected and it does the self test - But when I send any of the test commands nothing happens at all.

I will continue troubleshoot today.

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:16 am
by UndCon
Hello!

Can you please share the working config.h and pins.h?

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:06 pm
by William
Hi,

Sorry for the late reply.

It's in this post:
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 27&t=18263

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:33 pm
by Suggy
Hi
The adjustment nut keeps going down, I guess this caused by vibration from the machine whilst running.
How can I stop this happening?
Would the grub screw unwind all the way out? looking at putting a small amount off thread lock on the grub screw???????

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:26 am
by NiklasO
Use teflon tape (thread seal tape) on the screw. It will be easy to fine tune the pin and it will stay in place.

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:55 am
by William
Hi,@NiklasO
Thanks for your sharing.

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:38 pm
by Suggy
I take it the grub screw will backup all the way our!

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:55 pm
by NiklasO
Suggy wrote:I take it the grub screw will backup all the way our!
Yes, it will.

Re: Something you need to know before using 3D Touch

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:57 pm
by Suggy
Cheers buddy.
Holding well