lcd not working at all

Post Reply
joypad
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:56 pm

lcd not working at all

Post by joypad » Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:05 am

hi, i'v just finished assembling a geeetech i3 pro b, tuned it on but the display seems dead, even the backlight is off
the lcd module i found in the kit seems different from the one in the instruction manual and the ones i've seen in this forum, it's labeled dz2004a
any suggestions?

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4192
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: lcd not working at all

Post by William » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:13 am

You should add 12V PSU and then test the voltage of here
VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV.png
VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV.png (1.57 MiB) Viewed 2940 times
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: lcd not working at all

Post by _kaktus_ » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:35 pm

I would look for a display PCB, voltage regulator.

Then I would check the tensions on his leads.
In = 12V DC
Out = 3.3V DC

William my friend, please confirm that I have correctly described the voltage values.

After these steps, you will know where to look for faults.

User avatar
Admin
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:49 am

Re: lcd not working at all

Post by Admin » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:41 pm

Sorry for add this info
Normal voltage of here is 5V(If you plug 12V PSU)
Normal voltage of here is 3.3V(If you plug 5v via USB cable)

3DNovice
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:49 am

Re: lcd not working at all

Post by 3DNovice » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:11 am

I had exactly the same with the kit I bought last week. Looking at other posts there is an issue with the ribbon cables. essentially the connectors on one end need to be reversed. Trim off the black lugs on the pin connectors at one end of the cable (I did the end going to the LCD controller) and rotate the cable by 180 degrees and reinsert in the connector on the board. I now get the backlight on and two rows of squares and a squeel. Where before I had a totally powered off LCD. I'm now going to look at the firmware guidance. Fingers crossed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest