LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

hillwwl
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:35 am

LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by hillwwl » Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:04 pm

Hi there everyone!

First off I would like to thank everyone at Geeetech! You guys are awesome and so far everything has been going very smoothly and I am very impressed with your product!

Now, I have just completed building my (this guy: http://www.geeetech.com/geeetech-i3-pro ... niafcnpqe6) printer, and I am beginning to work through troubleshooting and towards printing stuff. At the moment I have hit a bit of a road block, it seems my LCD panel is only displaying blocks, similar to the scenario reported in another thread here (http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 23&t=15792). From the moment I turned my printer on it has done this, even after connecting to it with my computer. At first nothing worked, but after reviewing a few of the topics here (particularly the one previously mentioned) I realized that I must have had the LCD and SD card ribbons switched. SO, I corrected that and now I can get almost everything to work (all of the axes home and work manually, all of the temperature probes seem to function properly, and the extruders and the bed heat up on command) EXCEPT the LCD screen, which is being stubborn. I was hoping that the problem would be remedied when I switched the ribbons but that does not seem to be the case.

Is it possible the I messed something up when I originally reversed the ribbons?
Or does it appear as though I need to update/reinstall my firmware?
Or is it something completely different hahaha.

Thank you and my appreciation goes to anyone who can help me with this. :D

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by zhangxueyou » Wed Apr 22, 2015 3:44 pm

How many lines of blocks?

hillwwl
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:35 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by hillwwl » Thu Apr 23, 2015 1:44 am

2 lines of blocks which cross the entire screen, exactly like the first picture I this link: (http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 23&t=15792).

hillwwl
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:35 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by hillwwl » Thu Apr 23, 2015 1:54 am

Two lines of blocks that spanned the entire length of the screen, exactly like the first picture in this post: http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 23&t=15792

hillwwl
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:35 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by hillwwl » Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:50 am

2 lines of blocks, both of which cross the entire screen. So this: http://www.geeetech.com/forum/download/file.php?id=29

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by zhangxueyou » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:10 am

How about re-burning the firmware?

hillwwl
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:35 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by hillwwl » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:52 am

I have not tried re-burning the firmware yet, I figured I would avoid that if at all possible, but I'll try that now that my other options are exhausted. Could you please direct me to the appropriate link in the firmware thread or email me the appropriate file? Here is my email:

Hillarywinchester@gmail.com

Thank so much for your help!

Also, sorry I'm an idiot and didn't read that my posts get submitted to a moderator before posting 3 times wondering why they weren't showing up :lol:

Buzz
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:59 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by Buzz » Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:55 am

Hi, I just started assembling the GS2S about 2 weeks ago. I got the same problem. The first time I powered on my G2S, the LCD display was fine. After I turned it off and on again, I got only 2 lines of blocks. It is intermittent. Less often than not it does work. Switching the ribbon cables gave me different symptoms. I believe if the cables are wrong, you will only get a lighted up blank screen. So showing blocks indicated to me the ribbon cables are installed correctly.

If you advise to re-burn the firmware, which firmware are you referring to and where can I get it? Thanks.

Sherry
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by Sherry » Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:39 am

There is a reset button below the LCD knob,please click it.

Buzz
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:59 am

Re: LCD 2004 Panel Only Showing Blocks

Post by Buzz » Sun Jul 12, 2015 2:44 pm

I haven't got your reply. I have a GT2560 board in a G2S Rostock. To date I am not able to get the printer to respond, getting command waiting in the Repetier Host and the LCD showing 2 lines of block.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest