Error Max Temp Bed

lalink
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:41 am

Error Max Temp Bed

Post by lalink » Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:56 am

I recently bought a Geeetech prusa i3 and just finished putting it together and installing Repetier Host. I followed instructions on how to set up the software with the machine but I encountered the error message "Printer stopped due to errors. Fix the error and use M999 to restart." The LCD displays "ERR MAXTEMP BED." I have read through some posts with the same problems and checked for short circuitry within the board but can't seem to find any problems. Here's a picture of the circuit board if anyone can help.
Attachments
20150625_163730.jpg
20150625_163730.jpg (402.57 KiB) Viewed 12761 times

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by zhangxueyou » Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:00 am

I notice that you connected the endstops wrong, the wires should be connected to "SIG" and "GND".
What is the LCD displaying after you swap the connection of 2 thermistors, namely, connect hot bed thermistor to "E-THERM" and connect extruder thermistor to "B-THERM"?

lalink
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:41 am

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by lalink » Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:05 am

The display now reads "Err: MAXTEMP" and Repetier-Host gave an error message as follows:
"Error: 0
Extruder switched off. MAXTEMP triggered!
Error: Printer stopped due to errors. Fix the error and use M999 to restart."

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by zhangxueyou » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:29 am

Please check if somewhere of hot bed thermistor is short circuit.
If you have a multimeter, please test the resistance of thermistor, it should be around 100k ohm in room temperature.

lalink
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:41 am

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by lalink » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:04 pm

Sorry I am a noobie, but is the thermistor the wires under the tape on the heat bed?

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by zhangxueyou » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:07 pm

Yes, that's it.

lalink
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:41 am

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by lalink » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:14 pm

I've used a DMM to measure the resistance of what I believe is the thermistor, but I get no readings on the DMM.

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by zhangxueyou » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm

Did you unplug the wires from mainboard to measure it?
What reading do you get when you measure another thermistor?

lalink
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:41 am

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by lalink » Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:14 pm

I get a reading of 87.8 kilo-ohms from the bed thermistor when I turn on the machine without running the program. But now the error on the display reads "Err: MINTEMP"

zhangxueyou
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: Error Max Temp Bed

Post by zhangxueyou » Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:50 pm

lalink wrote:I get a reading of 87.8 kilo-ohms from the bed thermistor when I turn on the machine without running the program. But now the error on the display reads "Err: MINTEMP"
The bed thermistor looks fine, when the temperature is 25 degrees, it's about 100k ohm.
Please check if extruder thermistor is well connected. When LCD displays "err: mintemp", extruder thermistor is not well connected to mianboard, or it's open cricuit somewhere.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests