how to activate EEPROM function

Post Reply
Toy
Site Admin
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 8:40 am

how to activate EEPROM function

Post by Toy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:37 pm

With Marlin’s EEPROM functions activated, a user can set, adjust, tweak or otherwise modify a printer’s settings until everything is just so, and then save them such that they will not only survive a reboot (or even a complete re-flash of the firmware), but they will also appear as the default settings every time the printer is turned on.

This is a whole lot faster, easier and more productive than making all these changes within the Configuration.h file.

In most cases, the EEPROM functions are disabled by default. The good news is that it is quite simple to activate them. Simply open up your Configuration.h file,
find these two lines:


//#define EEPROM_SETTINGS
//#define EEPROM_CHITCHAT

comment them out and make them look like this:


#define EEPROM_SETTINGS
#define EEPROM_CHITCHAT
0812.png
0812.png (16.61 KiB) Viewed 7415 times
Now save your changes and re-flash Marlin. Your EEPROM functions are now active, congratulations!

You can verify this via your LCD controller by entering the menu, then selecting Control. Inside the Control menu, you should see two new options:

Store Memory and
Load Memory

You can refer to a video from @ZennmasterM:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckP2-GrMHvA

aja175
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:32 pm

Re: how to activate EEPROM function

Post by aja175 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:48 pm

I'll try it, but I haven't been able to successfully flash the firmware onto the GT2650

Blisk
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 3:05 am

Re: how to activate EEPROM function

Post by Blisk » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:27 pm

I also have problem flashing eeprom
I have changed #define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT (200,200,3000,95)

And when I measure in mm travel distance of X, Y and Z nothing changes, measuring shows the same as before changing to this settings above!

aja175
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:32 pm

Re: how to activate EEPROM function

Post by aja175 » Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:35 am

It ended up being a bad board for me. The new one arrived and everything works great.
The tech I was working with was extremely helpful, we went through everything it might possibly be and a bunch of things it shouldn't be but in the end the board was toast.
He said it was the first time he'd seen that problem (take that with an entire salt shaker)

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4482
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: how to activate EEPROM function

Post by William » Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:04 am

Blisk wrote:I also have problem flashing eeprom
I have changed #define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT (200,200,3000,95)

And when I measure in mm travel distance of X, Y and Z nothing changes, measuring shows the same as before changing to this settings above!
How about modifying it in the "Motion" menu on the LCD?
And you can try changing the motor direction in the firmware then upload it to see if the firmware can be uploaded successfully.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Blisk
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 3:05 am

Re: how to activate EEPROM function

Post by Blisk » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:46 pm

Yes I have calibrated now with changing settings on LCD display that worked.
When I upload firmware it always shows it is uploaded succesfully.
When I upload firmare with new settings and than checked on display I can see old settings.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dtouton and 7 guests