Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Locked
phil135
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:07 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by phil135 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:50 am

hello
i just tried to open marlin sketch
i'm surprised geeetech is still on arduino 1.0.1, but obviously 1.8.0 can't compile this software

for prusa i3 pro B , board GT2560 from geeetech design is not in the arduino list
--> the right board to select is Mega 2560 ?

lar3ry
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by lar3ry » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:54 am

phil1325, you can use a later version. I am using 1.8.0, with only a minor change to the firmware.
Go to page 13 of this thread, and search for the first post from NicoFR.
That will tell you what to change. I did it, but missed one of the instances, so NicoFR pointed it out to me.
This will allow you to compile, but you'll still get a few warnings, though they are easy enough to fix.

jamessmith
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:07 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by jamessmith » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:33 am

Is the source code for the Rostock 301 firmware available for download?


Thanks.

Veenoh
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:31 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by Veenoh » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:48 am

jamessmith wrote:Is the source code for the Rostock 301 firmware available for download?


Thanks.
Unfortunately no, and it's unclear if Geeetech will ever release it. Really limits the value of the printer since there will be no 3rd part improvements and bug fixes.

jamessmith
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:07 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by jamessmith » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:13 pm

Yeah, I'm looking for a new printer. I have a monoprice mini which also has proprietary firmware. I really like the diamond hotend but I don't want another printer that I can't upgrade. As the 301 already had the diamond hotend integrated, I was hoping that it could be my next printer. I guess I will keep looking.

Veenoh
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:31 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by Veenoh » Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:52 pm

As I have said in several posts, I converted my M301 to a G2s Pro with a GT2560 control board. I loaded the firmware version recommended by Geeetech (RKMB_GT2560_G2S in this forum and had all kinds of issues with esteps/mm being way off, the temperature being too low, and other problems. Finally, I downloaded the 1.1RC3 Marlin from https://github.com/phil-hx/Marlin, configured it the same way I had done before, and all the problems were corrected. I don't understand how anybody could have gotten the printer working properly with the recommended firmware.

I still have plenty of tweaking to do, but at least now I have a functioning printer! I could not have done this without the firmware being open source. I will NEVER buy a printer again like the M301 that does not allow access to the firmware.

--Dave

mgodoy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:48 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by mgodoy » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:17 pm

I have a Geeetech Prusa I3 dual extruder, and i am using "Marlin-PI3_Pro_X2.zip" firmware. The problem is that in the menu i haven't the option Move axis -> Extruder 2. What i must change in Marlin? Thank you very much.

GregKingston
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:54 pm

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by GregKingston » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:29 am

Mine is doing the same thing, did you ever get it working, if so could you let me know what you did for it to work? thanks

Bryanjgill
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:48 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by Bryanjgill » Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:07 am

Geeetech support,

I'm in the process of changing out the threaded rods on my M201 for lead screws. How can I edit the latest firmware v1.0.5 for the GTM32 board? I need to change the steps in configuration.h file and the v1.0.5 firmware is in hex.

Thanks,

Bryan

Edit Feb 8: Any update on this?

Edit Feb 16: Any update on this? (This is not looking good for Geeetech Support and I own two M201s to leave reviews on Amazon for.)
Last edited by Bryanjgill on Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

dadour13
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:32 am

Re: Firmware for geeetech 3D printers

Post by dadour13 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:39 am

Hi,
I get on I3 PRO B. ;)
I try many time to upgrade the firmware. :shock:
I use arduino 1.0.1 and the last firmaware GT2560.
I use 2 different systeme linux mint 18 and windows seven.
i already install the last driver for all. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
a get all the time avrdude: atk500v2_receiveMessage time out. :evil: :evil: :evil:
please can you give us a real process since A to Z like which speed of the buscon on your computer you need, which trouble shooting to knon if the FTDI232 is out.
i spend more than one week to try to found the mistake.
so I'm waiting your answer.
best regards

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests