Possible solutions for motors do not move

kircsab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by kircsab » Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:22 am

Hi,

I just put together the i3 pro B (with GT board).
Few issue I have:
X motor: goes in wrong direction -> will check your firmware updated advice. Interestingly when I tried to read the board info trough Arduino, it says
"BN: Unknown board
VID: 0403
PID: 6001
SN: Upload any sketch to obtain it"

Z motors: they do not move at all
what i tried:
I disconnected all rods form the Z motors to eliminate/isolate any potential bend,stuck, asymmetry etc. issue
1, disconnect one of the Z motor to lower the power need on the board -> No move
2, connected each Z motor (after each other) to the X motor connection -> both moves -> the motors are OK
3, connected the X motor to the Z motor connection slot -> no move
4, checked the voltage, all motor driver gives around 0.9V. increased the voltage on Z to 1.1/1.2. higher pitch buzzing noise but still no move
5, all connected back to normal, and checked Z motors. they are clearly under power as their axes is non-turnable (hold rock solid)

Can anyone with experience help me what could be wrong, what to check? I would really appreciate any thoughts before I contact with the seller (ebay) to ask for help which may be not more then a fat 0.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:10 am

@kircsab
1.X motor issue
Have you install the driver for GT2560 and can the board be detected by your computer?
http://www.geeetech.com/wiki/index.php/ ... he_drivers

2.Z axis issue
I noticed that you didn't try plugging Z axis driver into the socket of X axis to see how it goes?
Maybe you can have a try to swap them each other,i'm suspecting the driver on Z axis was broken...
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

kircsab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by kircsab » Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:13 pm

hi,
thx for the respond to my problem
for both issue now i have solution

1. x motor: i read some comments about the firware update software issue so i swaped back to 1.01 version (fro. 1.6) and now all works fine, i already changed in the firware the motor direction so all now good

2. z motor: funny to read your suggestion, i just did the same yesterday. i swapped the motor driver panels (above the jumpers) to see if the driver wrong. when i swapped to the x drive, that also did not work. OK so it is then the driver panel. i swapped back, pushed home and guess what now all works. as it was pre assembled in delivery probably they were not fully in home. never the less issue is solved .

again thx for the quick feedback and maybe other can learn from my issue and solution.

Fjordi3D
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:06 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Fjordi3D » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:49 am

Hello,

I bought a new I3 Pro A, after the building and wirering I tried to start the printer.
The problem: When I choose "auto home" the x-achses should move to "-", it moves to "+". Today I tried again and now the x-achses is fast moving/shaking one or two mm to - and then one or two mm to +.

Do have anybody a solution for that? :?:

I already controlled the wirering, same as at the functional achses.

I also connected the x-motor to the port of the y-motor, on this port the motor works fine, should be a problem with the x-port, the x-stepper driver or in the programm.
thanks

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:18 am

Hi,@Fjordi3D
1.You can swap the driver A4988 on X motor with the one of a working motor.
2.Swap the X endstop cable with Y endstop's and see how the motor goes.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Fjordi3D
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:06 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Fjordi3D » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:29 pm

Hey, @William

I tried it, but same problem, the steppe driver of the x-achses works fine on the y-motor, so that shouldn´t be the problem.
I also swaped the end stop pugs, but no effect on the motor.
Could it be a failure in the software?

Thanks for helping

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:57 pm

Fjordi3D wrote:Hey, @William

I tried it, but same problem, the steppe driver of the x-achses works fine on the y-motor, so that shouldn´t be the problem.
I also swaped the end stop pugs, but no effect on the motor.
Could it be a failure in the software?

Thanks for helping
So the X motor has a wrong direction?Refer to this:
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 17&t=17037
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Soloswitch
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Soloswitch » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:30 pm

Hello All,
I bought Geeetech Prusa I3 Aluminium and put together.
I have a problem with stepper motor of extruder. It doesn't work. No move no noise, nothing.
So I swtched the connector to Y axis and it works so the motor is OK.
I measured voltage on gnd and trimmer and it is 0.87V and I tried to move it up to 1.2V but still nothing.
I also measured GND and Vdo and it is 4.97V it must be OK.
The control board kit is Sanguinololu +4A4988
I also switched stepper module A4988 from E motor to Y motor and module works.

Could you please help?

Thank you

bang
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:12 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by bang » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:52 pm

Soloswitch wrote:Hello All,
I bought Geeetech Prusa I3 Aluminium and put together.
I have a problem with stepper motor of extruder. It doesn't work. No move no noise, nothing.
So I swtched the connector to Y axis and it works so the motor is OK.
I measured voltage on gnd and trimmer and it is 0.87V and I tried to move it up to 1.2V but still nothing.
I also measured GND and Vdo and it is 4.97V it must be OK.
The control board kit is Sanguinololu +4A4988
I also switched stepper module A4988 from E motor to Y motor and module works.

Could you please help?

Thank you
So i guess you didn't heat up your extruder before your test?

StefaanC
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:11 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by StefaanC » Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:25 pm

The plotter should always work in manual mode.
So If in manual mode 50mm is selected then the axis should move.

I 'have the same problem with a kossel GS design, not tested with extruder to temperature but again, manual should always work but it's not working.
My other kossel design with a MKS sbase board runs fine also manual control , this geeetech on the other hand seems not a finished product at all.

The firmware is ok, LCD working.
The voltage on the 8825 is set to 0.75 Volt, which correspondents with the 1,5 Amp of the motors.
An sure not forget that the 8825 uses 100% power at 1/32 so don't set it much higher. All motors react only at start, they stall an make therefore stalling noise.
At boot it should go to home and even that is not going.

Or the software, or the board has problems or faults in the manual.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests