Possible solutions for motors do not move

Slayer456
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 6:12 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Slayer456 » Mon May 16, 2016 2:12 pm

No, it was a problem with the build instructions. They show the wrong connection points
for the cables. It took a combination of online research and experimentation to get
them plugged into the right positions on the control board. The machine is working now.

kircsab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by kircsab » Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:22 am

Hi,

I just put together the i3 pro B (with GT board).
Few issue I have:
X motor: goes in wrong direction -> will check your firmware updated advice. Interestingly when I tried to read the board info trough Arduino, it says
"BN: Unknown board
VID: 0403
PID: 6001
SN: Upload any sketch to obtain it"

Z motors: they do not move at all
what i tried:
I disconnected all rods form the Z motors to eliminate/isolate any potential bend,stuck, asymmetry etc. issue
1, disconnect one of the Z motor to lower the power need on the board -> No move
2, connected each Z motor (after each other) to the X motor connection -> both moves -> the motors are OK
3, connected the X motor to the Z motor connection slot -> no move
4, checked the voltage, all motor driver gives around 0.9V. increased the voltage on Z to 1.1/1.2. higher pitch buzzing noise but still no move
5, all connected back to normal, and checked Z motors. they are clearly under power as their axes is non-turnable (hold rock solid)

Can anyone with experience help me what could be wrong, what to check? I would really appreciate any thoughts before I contact with the seller (ebay) to ask for help which may be not more then a fat 0.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 3695
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:10 am

@kircsab
1.X motor issue
Have you install the driver for GT2560 and can the board be detected by your computer?
http://www.geeetech.com/wiki/index.php/ ... he_drivers

2.Z axis issue
I noticed that you didn't try plugging Z axis driver into the socket of X axis to see how it goes?
Maybe you can have a try to swap them each other,i'm suspecting the driver on Z axis was broken...
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

kircsab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by kircsab » Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:13 pm

hi,
thx for the respond to my problem
for both issue now i have solution

1. x motor: i read some comments about the firware update software issue so i swaped back to 1.01 version (fro. 1.6) and now all works fine, i already changed in the firware the motor direction so all now good

2. z motor: funny to read your suggestion, i just did the same yesterday. i swapped the motor driver panels (above the jumpers) to see if the driver wrong. when i swapped to the x drive, that also did not work. OK so it is then the driver panel. i swapped back, pushed home and guess what now all works. as it was pre assembled in delivery probably they were not fully in home. never the less issue is solved .

again thx for the quick feedback and maybe other can learn from my issue and solution.

Fjordi3D
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:06 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Fjordi3D » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:49 am

Hello,

I bought a new I3 Pro A, after the building and wirering I tried to start the printer.
The problem: When I choose "auto home" the x-achses should move to "-", it moves to "+". Today I tried again and now the x-achses is fast moving/shaking one or two mm to - and then one or two mm to +.

Do have anybody a solution for that? :?:

I already controlled the wirering, same as at the functional achses.

I also connected the x-motor to the port of the y-motor, on this port the motor works fine, should be a problem with the x-port, the x-stepper driver or in the programm.
thanks

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 3695
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:18 am

Hi,@Fjordi3D
1.You can swap the driver A4988 on X motor with the one of a working motor.
2.Swap the X endstop cable with Y endstop's and see how the motor goes.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Fjordi3D
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:06 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Fjordi3D » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:29 pm

Hey, @William

I tried it, but same problem, the steppe driver of the x-achses works fine on the y-motor, so that shouldn´t be the problem.
I also swaped the end stop pugs, but no effect on the motor.
Could it be a failure in the software?

Thanks for helping

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 3695
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by William » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:57 pm

Fjordi3D wrote:Hey, @William

I tried it, but same problem, the steppe driver of the x-achses works fine on the y-motor, so that shouldn´t be the problem.
I also swaped the end stop pugs, but no effect on the motor.
Could it be a failure in the software?

Thanks for helping
So the X motor has a wrong direction?Refer to this:
http://www.geeetech.com/forum/viewtopic ... 17&t=17037
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

Soloswitch
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by Soloswitch » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:30 pm

Hello All,
I bought Geeetech Prusa I3 Aluminium and put together.
I have a problem with stepper motor of extruder. It doesn't work. No move no noise, nothing.
So I swtched the connector to Y axis and it works so the motor is OK.
I measured voltage on gnd and trimmer and it is 0.87V and I tried to move it up to 1.2V but still nothing.
I also measured GND and Vdo and it is 4.97V it must be OK.
The control board kit is Sanguinololu +4A4988
I also switched stepper module A4988 from E motor to Y motor and module works.

Could you please help?

Thank you

bang
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:12 pm

Re: Possible solutions for motors do not move

Post by bang » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:52 pm

Soloswitch wrote:Hello All,
I bought Geeetech Prusa I3 Aluminium and put together.
I have a problem with stepper motor of extruder. It doesn't work. No move no noise, nothing.
So I swtched the connector to Y axis and it works so the motor is OK.
I measured voltage on gnd and trimmer and it is 0.87V and I tried to move it up to 1.2V but still nothing.
I also measured GND and Vdo and it is 4.97V it must be OK.
The control board kit is Sanguinololu +4A4988
I also switched stepper module A4988 from E motor to Y motor and module works.

Could you please help?

Thank you
So i guess you didn't heat up your extruder before your test?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest